Introductions to SDS

Stony Dean is on an attractive site of approximately seven acres.  Facilities include a full-range of specialist teaching rooms, multi‑skills court, full‑size football pitch and a new adventure trail.

Specialist facilities include a well-equipped Resistant Materials Room, Art Room, Science laboratory and a recently refurbished Food Technology Room.  There are two computer suites, which can accommodate whole classes for ICT  and ICT-related work across the curriculum. Most classrooms have PCs and there are laptops available for individual or whole class use, all linked to the wireless network

Other well equipped rooms are designed to deliver the National Curriculum, suitably modified to meet the needs of our complex learners.

The Post-16 Department offers a two year programme of Life Skills and Work Related Learning and a wide range of accredited courses, chosen to ensure our students are well-prepared to meet the challenges of the adult world.

The Gymnasium/Hall is a spacious area for both Assemblies and PE activities.

A choice of freshly cooked meals is available daily and healthy snacks are sold at break times.  The  school runs a breakfast club daily.

LOWER SCHOOL:  Key Stage 3

Years 7, 8 and 9 are in Key Stage 3.  Pupils are placed through a careful screening and induction programme into classes of eight to ten These groups are always supported in addition to which many pupils will have a personalised programme in response to their own specific needs

The subject-based curriculum incorporates the National Curriculum and extends beyond it.  It is designed to meet the wide-ranging needs of pupils and includes specialist approaches.  Subjects are taught in flexible groupings.

In Years 7 and 8, literacy and numeracy skills are taught in Communication and Interaction (English) and Numeracy, as well as in the context of other subjects.

Year 9 teaching builds on this foundation to prepare pupils for effective transition into Key Stage 4.  The end of Key Stage 3 is marked by assessment and parents are notified of the results.

UPPER SCHOOL:  Key Stage 4

Pupils begin Key Stage 4 in Year 10.  For many it will be an opportunity for a new start as an emphasis will be given to skills needed for survival in the world of work, as well as academic success.

Pupils follow externally set syllabuses in the core subjects (English, Mathematics and Science) and in other curriculum areas, leading to external accreditation.

Some pupils will follow a curriculum with Functional Skills as a basis, leading into vocational and work related learning opportunities. There is also the opportunity for some pupils to study an accredited Life Skills programme.

All Year 11 pupils will leave school with a Record of Achievement, identifying the successes they have experienced in Years 10 and 11.

POST 16 studies are available at Stony Dean in the Sixth Form. (see separate Post 16 Prospectus)

The National Curriculum:

The National Curriculum is a framework used by all maintained schools to ensure that teaching and learning is balanced and consistent. It sets out

  • the subjects taught
  • the knowledge, skills and understanding required in each subject
  • standards or attainment targets in each subject (eg. English AT1; Speaking and Listening, AT2; Reading, AT3; Writing) Teachers use these to measure your child’s progress and plan the next steps in their learning
  • how your child’s progress is assessed and reported

Within the framework of the National Curriculum, schools are free to plan and organise teaching and learning in the way that best meets the needs of their pupils.

The National Curriculum was first introduced over twenty years ago and has undergone some significant changes since then. There is, for example, no longer any requirement for pupils to sit tests at the end of Year 9 and these assessments are carried out by teachers.

P Scales:

The National Curriculum starts with the P Scales which are designed to provide a way of assessing pupils in the early stages of their learning. They help teachers to plan future targets and help them to review progress. They begin with P1 and move through eight levels to P8. They break down into achievable steps the important skills, knowledge and understanding which a pupil needs before moving on to work at the National Curriculum levels.

There are P Scales for Literacy, Numeracy, Science, ICT (Information and Communication Technology) and PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education)



National Curriculum Levels:

These levels start with Level 1 and each Level is subdivided into three sub-levels. A pupil will, therefore move from P8 to Level 1c, then on to Level 1b and so on in the subjects which are not covered by the PIVATS programme. In schools which do not use PIVATS, the division of each Level will be limited to the three sub-levels (c, b then a)



Literacy, Numeracy, Science, ICT

Pupils start at P1 and progress through to P8
National Curriculum Levels
Literacy, Numeracy, Science, ICT Pupils move from P8 to Level 1c and progress through to Level 4a, then on to Levels 5 -10



Pupils start at Level 1c and progress through to Level 16a

Other Subjects


Pupils start at Level 1c and progress through to Level 4a, then on to Levels 5 – 10

SD footer banner footer swish